Gilgamesh 8.13.2001 – 9.9.2013

tired-gilly-2.jpg

 

5 responses to “Gilgamesh 8.13.2001 – 9.9.2013

  1. People’s responses on Facebook have been truly moving, and comforting: it is amazing to me how much of Gilly has conveyed, over the years, to so many.

    I’ve anonymized the screen so people’s names are protected, but to keep some of this incredibly kind response where I can easily see it, and with thanks for each kindness that means so much to me right now:

    .
    September 9 at 11:27pm · LikeReply

    So sorry Jessamyn
    September 9 at 11:31pm via mobile · LikeReply

    no adequate words
    September 9 at 11:32pm · LikeReply

    Oh Jess I’m so sorry sending hugs
    September 9 at 11:32pm via mobile · LikeReply

    i knew it. i felt you all today. such a loved dog-man.
    September 9 at 11:34pm · LikeReply

    you did right by him every day of his life, and the last ones are hardest to do right. I wish I could say something to ease that scraped-out-inside feeling. Invitation is open if you need some fresh scenery. And for that matter… I know you have your own special places but if you need it, there’s room under an old apple tree here, and we’ll be here always.
    September 9 at 11:39pm · LikeReply

    I am so very sorry Jessamyn.
    September 9 at 11:40pm · LikeReply

    Deeply Sorry Jessamyn. I know he was your soulmate, muse, hiking buddy and playmate and more. I know your loss is deep. Find some solace in nature, it always helps. “Where there is sorrow, there is sacred ground.” Oscar Wilde
    September 9 at 11:41pm · LikeReply

    peace
    September 9 at 11:42pm via mobile · LikeReply

    love love love to you and oh jessamyn i’m so sorry. soooo sorry.
    September 9 at 11:44pm · LikeReply

    my condolences…
    September 9 at 11:46pm · LikeReply

    I am sorry for the loss of your family member.
    September 9 at 11:53pm · LikeReply

    may his memory be a blessing.
    September 9 at 11:55pm · LikeReply

    So very sorry.
    September 9 at 11:56pm · LikeReply

    Oh, Jessamyn, I am so very sorry. You were such a good and loving friend to him.
    Yesterday at 12:03am · LikeReply

    So very sorry, Jessamyn.
    Yesterday at 12:07am · LikeReply

    i’m so sorry jessamyn.
    Yesterday at 12:14am · LikeReply

    I’m so very sorry, Jessamyn. I have no words.
    Yesterday at 12:16am via mobile · LikeReply

    Oh puppy boy…the great fields of heaven have opened up. I’m so sorry, sweetie.
    Yesterday at 12:17am · LikeReply

    Oh no… sorry, Me!
    Yesterday at 12:20am · LikeReply

    I am so, so sorry. ((hugs))
    Yesterday at 12:25am · LikeReply

    My heart walks with yours, and will steadily remain while you are light-years away
    Yesterday at 12:29am via mobile · LikeReply

    I am so, so sorry. The world has lost a great heart. My deepest condolences.
    Yesterday at 12:35am via mobile · LikeReply

    I’m so very sorry for your loss.
    Yesterday at 1:09am via mobile · LikeReply

    I am so sorry…
    Yesterday at 1:15am · LikeReply

    crying
    Yesterday at 1:31am · LikeReply

    Very sorry
    Yesterday at 2:07am · LikeReply

    tears. so very sorry.
    Yesterday at 3:38am · LikeReply

    Journey on Gil.
    Yesterday at 5:14am via mobile · LikeReply

    I am so sorry for your loss, Jess. Sending love —
    Yesterday at 5:31am · LikeReply

    My heart breaks for you. So, so sorry.
    Yesterday at 5:45am via mobile · LikeReply

    Oh, Jessamyn. I am so very sorry.
    Yesterday at 5:53am · LikeReply

    He was one of the finest dogs I had the honor to know for a little while. It wasn’t until my cat of 18 years passed away a few years ago, did I really “get” the concept of a familiar. These lovely creatures are so much more than pet or friend. They are woven into the fabric of our lives. It is for this reason they are never gone, Of course it still hurts the same. Deborah and my hearts go out to you. Gilly you were the BEST!
    Yesterday at 6:17am · Like · 1Reply

    I am so sorry for your loss.
    Yesterday at 6:26am · LikeReply

    As I try to type with my familiar in my arms, I am thinking of you and Gil. I’m so sorry for the loss, but so happy that the two of you had each other while you did.
    Yesterday at 6:58am · LikeReply

    I am sorry.
    Yesterday at 7:04am · LikeReply

    He will be missed, Jessamyn. You are both in my thoughts today.
    Yesterday at 7:14am via mobile · LikeReply

    I am so sorry Jessamyn.
    Yesterday at 7:21am · LikeReply

    So sorry for your loss Jessamyn. He still lives in your heart.
    Yesterday at 7:22am via mobile · LikeReply

    Wonderful words of comfort from your friends, and I add mine to that chorus. I’m so, so sorry, Jessamyn.
    Yesterday at 7:26am · LikeReply

    He was such a fine soul. I’m so sorry.
    Yesterday at 7:26am via mobile · LikeReply

    So very sorry.
    Yesterday at 7:28am via mobile · LikeReply

    Oh Jess. Inadequate words here too. Weeping for you and for the magnificent Gilly. Grateful for meeting him and for your stories of your shared lives and adventures. This is a dark day.
    Yesterday at 7:31am · LikeReply

    So sorry for your loss. Gilgamesh is at play in the ever-flowering fields of the Doggess now.
    Yesterday at 7:31am via mobile · LikeReply

    I’m so sorry for you loss Jessamyn. You both are in my thoughts.
    Yesterday at 7:40am via mobile · LikeReply

    I am sending a memorial gift to the shelter Gilly emerged from.
    Yesterday at 7:41am · Like · 2Reply

    So Sorry …………. can’t find words
    Yesterday at 7:44am · LikeReply

    I’m so sad. The world has lost a hero.
    Yesterday at 8:01am · LikeReply

    I am so so sorry for your loss Jessamyn.
    Yesterday at 8:08am via mobile · Like · 1Reply

    I cried looking at the pictures you posted of Gilly enjoying blueberry pie and giving you loving looks. As we say, may his memory be for a blessing.
    Yesterday at 8:18am via mobile · LikeReply

    I’m so sorry Jessamyn.
    Yesterday at 8:20am via mobile · LikeReply

    So sorry for your loss!
    Yesterday at 8:21am · LikeReply

    We’re so deeply sorry, Jess. We’re here if you need help with anything.
    Yesterday at 8:21am · Like · 2Reply

    Much love to you and Mr. Gilly.
    Yesterday at 8:28am · LikeReply

    Oh Jess…my heart aches for you with tears as I read this…his beautiful spirit will be with you always…
    Yesterday at 8:29am via mobile · LikeReply

    My condolences, Jess
    Yesterday at 8:30am · LikeReply

    Woke up this morning thinking of you and Gilly. I’m so sorry.
    Yesterday at 8:36am · Like · 1Reply

    heart full
    Yesterday at 8:38am via mobile · LikeReply

    Much love. You are in my heart.
    Yesterday at 9:15am · LikeReply

    Wishing you both peace. Thank you for sharing your images, experiences and memories.
    Yesterday at 9:26am · LikeReply

    The heart makes tears.
    Yesterday at 9:40am · LikeReply

    I am so very sorry to hear this. I wish I had gotten a chance to meet him before he left us.
    Yesterday at 9:57am via mobile · LikeReply

    Sorry for your loss sweetheart,these beautiful creatures bring so much to us. What a Blessing to share our love to them and they give us so much comfort, joy and mischief.
    Yesterday at 9:58am · LikeReply

    So sorry for your loss Jessamyn
    Yesterday at 10:14am via mobile · LikeReply

    Jessamyn, I am so deeply saddened and my heart goes out to you. What an epic love. I cannot imagine any greater love between woman and dog. Your loss must be anguishing and will (likely) take time to heal. Please be OK. xoxoxoxox
    Yesterday at 10:37am · LikeReply

    Oh, Jessamyn … I don’t what to say to a woman who loses her best friend. Only what I feel — I’m SO sorry for your loss and I hope there’s moments of joy in remembrance. Hugs.
    Yesterday at 10:54am · LikeReply

    You can still talk with him. His spirit may be near you for a long time.
    Yesterday at 11:26am · LikeReply

    I am so sorry…
    Yesterday at 11:31am · LikeReply

    Been following your journeys both, Big hug to you Jess!.
    Yesterday at 11:49am · LikeReply

    Heart is aching and I can’t stop crying for a wonderful dog that I never met, but followed his adventures online. Your relationship was so special. I don’t think I have ever known a closer more complete relationship, You gave him a wonderful full life and in term he gave you unconditional love.
    Yesterday at 12:21pm · LikeReply

    I gasped at this news. And now my heart aches…but not as much as yours does. Many hugs.
    Yesterday at 12:30pm · LikeReply

    I only met you both this summer, but you’ve both left a lasting impression. Quality.
    Yesterday at 12:31pm · LikeReply

    Jess I only wish there were words. To have been there at the end of a life so well lived is a gift at the end so much is taught to us it will takes years sometimes to know
    Tuesday, September 10 at 1:52pm (23 hours ago) · LikeReply

    So much love!
    Tuesday, September 10 at 2:51pm (22 hours ago) · LikeReply

    I am so very sorry for your loss…sending you all my love.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 5:01pm (20 hours ago) · LikeReply

    My deepest condolences. Gilly has such a good human and how graced you both were. My thoughts are with you.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 5:49pm (19 hours ago) · LikeReply

    So very sorry for your loss and so grateful that you had each others’ love and care.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 5:58pm (19 hours ago) · LikeReply

    Such a sweetheart.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:49pm (17 hours ago) via mobile · LikeReply

    I only met him once or twice, but I remember his sweet nature. So sorry for your loss.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:53pm (17 hours ago) · LikeReply

    So sorry for your loss, Jessamyn. I know he will stay with you forever in your heart and soul. xoxo
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:57pm (17 hours ago) · Edited · LikeReply

    Oh, Jess! I am so sorry. He knew how much you loved him, that’s for sure.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 8:35pm (17 hours ago) · LikeReply

    Jessamyn: Very sorry for your loss; I have never experienced (vicariously) a love between a human and a dog so profoundly as I have these last years, reading your posts and (esp) seeing the pictures you shared of you and Gillie. A powerful love.
    10:04am (3 hours ago) · LikeReply

  2. 7:09am (6 hours ago)
    Sending you so much love

    6:48am (7 hours ago)
    Oh Jess, what an amazing love you have. I am aching for you and sending you love.

    3:47am (10 hours ago)
    Oh God Jess. My heart is with you.

    12:55am (13 hours ago)
    I had the pleasure of meeting, walking with and photographing this beautiful soul. He’s in one of my project photographs with his human companion. Tears are streaming down my face as I bid him goodbye and wish him a restful, peaceful sleep. This hits so close to home for me. I know this pain of losing a canine companion. Say hello to my Sumatra, Gilly. Love to you both on your journey.
    Gilgamesh 8.13.2001 – 9.9.2013
    dogumentaries.wordpress.com

    12:48am (13 hours ago) near Portland, OR via mobile
    Having experienced a loss such as this, as well, I know there are no words. Only understanding and so much love to let you know you are not alone in your grief. My thoughts and tears go out to you. May their warmth surround you.

    Tuesday, September 10 at 11:09pm (14 hours ago)
    I just got home, and have been reading your page in disbelief. Your heart must be breaking, dear friend. To see you with Gilly was to witness true love. So very, very sorry.

    Tuesday, September 10 at 10:06pm (15 hours ago) via mobile
    Jess, I know how much that beautiful friend meant to you. So sorry for your loss.

    Tuesday, September 10 at 9:09pm (16 hours ago)
    So so SAD. Such a loss of such a love!

    Tuesday, September 10 at 8:10pm (17 hours ago) near Greenfield via mobile
    Grieving with you. Rest now sweet boy

    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:29pm (18 hours ago)
    Thank you for these floods of kindness, all of you who loved Gilly, or who love me, or both. It means a lot.

    I keep thinking of the rabbit prayer from Watership Down: all our friends stop running today.

    Oh, honey. I’m so sorry.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:31pm (18 hours ago) via mobile · LikeReply

    I wept last night for both of you. I want to bake you a pie.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:34pm (18 hours ago) · Like · 1Reply

    So sorry. We all grieve with you. RIP Gilly
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:35pm (18 hours ago) via mobile · Like · 1Reply

    So sad to read this darlin’ heart…big Texas hugs and besotes…he’s a very lucky dog/soul…he had a good life here with you…
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:35pm (18 hours ago) via mobile · Like · 1Reply

    I wish that there were something more than words, something more to do than to say – I am so sorry, so very sorry.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:36pm (18 hours ago) · LikeReply

    Oh, Jessamyn, I’m so very, very sorry. I know all too well the pain you are feeling and my heart aches for you and Gilly. Really. I’m in tears.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:39pm (18 hours ago) via mobile ·

    Ive been thinking about you all day. I know this pain. I can’t find any words that could come close to adequately help your heart feel less empty
    Hugs to you
    Xoxo
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:43pm (18 hours ago) via mobile · LikeReply

    I’m just now reading about this, and I am so sorry, Me. I count myself lucky to have met him. My heart is with you.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 8:10pm (17 hours ago) · LikeReply
    Hugs, Jessamyn.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 8:21pm (17 hours ago) · LikeReply

    So so sorry Jess.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 8:34pm (17 hours ago) via mobile · LikeReply

    no past tense for loving Gilly. Heal, sweetie.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 8:46pm (17 hours ago) · Like · 2Reply

    Thinking of you….
    Tuesday, September 10 at 8:48pm (17 hours ago) · Like · 2Reply
    Sad. I miss seeing you 2
    Tuesday, September 10 at 9:03pm (16 hours ago) · Edited · LikeReply

    Oh Jessamyn… All of us, whose hearts still beat, carry the world…
    Gilly will forever make the load lighter…xox
    Tuesday, September 10 at 9:09pm (16 hours ago) via mobile · LikeReply

    A sudden reign of nausea by the kitchen sink this morning, the realization I could vomit, or cry, let myself feel what I feel for a dog & a woman I’ve never flesh met, or hold it in which would mean expelling it out. Took the more gentle door. Humbled both by powerlessness to change an unchangeable, & an added level of acceptance no matter the process of the revelation – love is love, all that all @ once. strength & to you
    Tuesday, September 10 at 9:10pm (16 hours ago) via mobile · Like ·

    Tuesday, September 10 at 9:14pm (16 hours ago) · LikeReply

    A cat purring on my lap (Miz Sputnik) affirms love abides as she reminds me of the others who purred there – Stu, and Queenie, and Mrs McGillicuddy. Thinking of you, and of all of us who are so loved and love back.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 10:08pm (15 hours ago) via mobile · LikeReply

    My deepest sympathies to you. I know Gilly will RIP, knowing how much you loved (and still love) him. He was a lucky dog to have you – and you were lucky to have such a wonderful dog! *hugs*
    Tuesday, September 10 at 10:18pm (15 hours ago) · LikeReply

    My deepest condolences. What a sweet and super-loved doggie.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 10:26pm (15 hours ago) ·

  3. Tuesday, September 10 at 4:22pm (21 hours ago)
    i dreamt of you and gilly, i woke up thinking of both of you and i’ve been petting and rubbing both of our guys today and telling them stories of gilly and all the love between you two. love love love to you today. xoxoo

    Tuesday, September 10 at 11:37am near Sheridan, WY via mobile
    love to you.

    Tuesday, September 10 at 10:55am near Brattleboro, VT
    I am so very sorry. It is harder for me when one of my animal companions pass on than when people die.

    Tuesday, September 10 at 9:59am
    How holding still, bundled with a single dish
    on a single knee, watching it unreel,
    labyrinth of the small morning rain unheard
    and beyond, alone, the fence posts gone to seed,
    likewise the mailbox verdigris and rust,
    sturdy stuff, makes a drawing of us, gathers up,
    as it will, what’s left of all the bundled light.

    So so sad for you and for your beautiful Gilly

    Me Thank you for this, J –
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:23pm (18 hours ago) · LikeReply
    Been feeling your grief all day, J. What a blessing, your Gilly.
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:29pm (18 hours ago)

    Tuesday, September 10 at 8:51am via mobile
    Love and disconsolate tears. I wish I had more to offer.

    Tuesday, September 10 at 8:51am
    Oh, Jess. I have no words. Just got home from a long workday to this heartbreaking news. After weeping from reading what you wrote yesterday about wanting to turn back time, my sleep last night was full of dreams where I kept trying to console you in vain. I was hoping so hard that Gilly would have more good time left in him. I wish we lived closer by so we could offer you tactile support and love at a time when words feel so utterly inadequate.

    Tuesday, September 10 at 6:34am via mobile
    No words, only tears.

    Tuesday, September 10 at 12:12am
    Oh Jess. Weeping.

    ;-(
    Yesterday at 12:19am · LikeReply
    Oh my God! I am so saddened by the loss of this truly great soul. Hugs to you, Jessamyn Smyth. I weep with you.
    Yesterday at 12:54am · LikeReply

    Monday, September 9 at 11:47pm via mobile
    I grieve with Jess he truly was a beautiful soul. I will miss him, sending my love.

  4. Monday, September 9 at 7:13pm
    I just want to say, I understand and you are not alone. I grieve with you.

    Monday, September 9 at 5:57pm
    For Jessamyn and Gilly, a bit of the poem I wrote for you both last year…

    “I’ll singsong into the woods

    and wait for my quiver to quiver,

    reach my hands out, fingers forked,

    hovering above the forest floor,

    ready for the quickening sign.

    One by one they’ll find me,

    then I’ll find Gilly, and then we’ll

    find the thief, and then these sticks,

    these sticks will find their glory.”

    I’m sitting in the Atlanta airport between planes and tears are running down my cheeks and I don’t give a damn what people around me think.
    September 9 at 2:05pm via mobile ·

    Looking in to the eyes of love.
    September 9 at 2:24pm

    So trusting, so true.
    September 9 at 2:29pm

    Love dog
    September 9 at 2:41pm via mobile ·

    God heavens, he’s adorable. My heart for you.
    September 9 at 2:59pm

    I can’t really express how so very sorry I am, Jess. I’m incredibly honored to have been a part of his life for a little while.
    September 9 at 3:46pm

    Tears for Gilly, and for Jess.
    September 9 at 3:25pm ·

    I remember my astonishment the first time I learned that you had actually named your dog for Gilgamesh.
    September 9 at 3:36pm ·

    you know we will do anything for you and for Gilly
    September 9 at 3:41pm

    ((hugs))
    September 9 at 4:16pm

    Deep hug
    September 9 at 4:35pm via mobile

    my heart is with you two at this profoundest of moments
    September 9 at 5:38pm via mobile ·

    There aren’t really words. Grace and peace to you and Gilly.
    September 9 at 7:56pm ·

    Despite your recent updates, I want to absolutely deny that anything could possibly get Gilly down. It’s simply unacceptable. Gilly forever.
    September 9 at 8:11pm

    Sweet Gilly.
    September 9 at 11:12pm via mobile

    Oh, this is just too sad. He was a great beast.
    Yesterday at 1:00am

    Hugs to you.
    Yesterday at 1:42am ·

    Beautiful boy…..
    Yesterday at 12:30pm

    Oh I just saw this news – I’m so incredibly sorry, Jess. Gilly and you shared such love and life together. My heart hurts for you right now. Such a sweet fun spirit. Keep on sharing the good memories – they do help get you through! xoxoxo
    Tuesday, September 10 at 7:47pm (18 hours ago) via mobile

Leave a Reply

