“All at once” – on transformative moments and sight

Corky entered my life like a sloppy clown. I was in a straight backed chair in a sunlit room and they told me to call and damned if she didn’t run full steam into my arms.

She was the clown who leaps into the seats and sits on someone’s grandfather.

She placed her front paws on my shoulders and washed my face and then, as if she knew the job would require comedy, she nibbled my nose but ever so gently like a horse who checks his owner’s hand for a peppermint.

Lovely essay by Stephen Kuusisto on Planet of the Blind

2 responses to ““All at once” – on transformative moments and sight

  1. Reblogged this on Writer with a lead and commented:
    Simply beautiful, Pooches are really man’s best friend.

  2. Isn’t that a beautiful essay?

Leave a Reply

