The portrait

I have taken this photograph of Gilgamesh probably a hundred times over the years. He has many moods, and a variety of adventures, but this right here is the essential portrait of my friend. The ready joy. The hope of run and retrieval. The open heart. The intensity of focus on me, boring into my brain what next happiness I should participate in with him. White eyebrows and clouding retinas haven’t changed this essential portrait at all. For eleven, nearing twelve years now.

the-gilly-picture

I am so lucky to know this dog.

Leave a Reply

