A wild week of wuthering

Wind walks with Gilly:

3 responses to “A wild week of wuthering

  1. The song is Ulali’s “Mahk Jchi”

    Lyrics:
    Mahk jchi tahm buooi yahmpi gidi
    Mahk jchi taum buooi kan spewa ebi
    Mahmpi wah hoka yee nonk
    Tahond tani kiyee tiyee
    Gee we-me eetiyee
    Nanka yaht yamoonieah wajitse

    English Translation:
    A hundred years have passed
    Yet I hear the distant beat of my father’s drums.
    I hear his drums throughout the land.
    His beat I feel within my heart.
    The drum shall beat
    so my heart shall beat.
    And I shall live a hundred thousand years.

    You can watch them sing the song (live in Italy) here.

    You can buy their stuff here.

  2. Ooh, this is good. I love the music. It fits the moody scenery and Gilly’s runnings and wanderings so well. Very cool. I love the affectionate, playful, but definitely in your face, barks at the end!

  3. There’s a purity and delicateness in the trio’s voices that slays me *because* they can also just WAIL – and the harmonies are gorgeous. Great music.

    I was harassing Gilly along our whole walk: what you can’t hear before the barking is me saying “I’mmmm…gooonnnnnaaaa…. GET YOU!!!!” and making all kinds of not-at-all-scary scary faces which he finds very funny. So he says “go ahead I DARE you! MWAH ha ha ha ha” and shreds a stick most ferociously. And then I crack up, because he is unpersuasive in his ferocity, and he barks, and then I throw the stick and walk along until he is unsuspecting again, at which point it all begins again.

    Sometimes I sing Blondie at him. Then he knows he’s REALLY in for it and there’s going to be an actual game of tag.

Leave a Reply

